3 Phase Paleo

I wanted to read 3 Phase Paleo by Stacy Toth and Matthew McCarry, the Paleo Parents, a couple of times before I did my review. The first time I read it I thought “Wow, where was this book when my family was young? We could have really benefitted from it!” After reading the book through that lens I had to read it again looking for the benefits for me. See I really questioned buying this book because it seems marketed toward families with young kids, that’s not me. Again I thought “Wow.” only this time I was excited for the section on the 3rd phase, which is where I am at in my journey–Introduce Healing Foods. So then I had to read that section again, just to make sure I was still impressed, and I was.

3PP-byPaleoParents-affiliatesidebargraphic
Click here to visit Paleo Parents and buy the book.(this picture provided by the Paleo Parents website)

What I liked about this book, compared to many other great books I have read on nutrition and Paleo, is how practical it is. I felt like after reading 3 Phase Paleo I have the skills to really rock this life style. I love the lists of what to buy at the different stores and the section on how to stock your pantry. I’ve been eating Paleo for longer than I knew I was eating Paloe but if I was new I’d have printed and posted the Food Swap List on my fridge, on my desk at work and in my car! Like I said I have been eating Paleo for a while but after reading this book I feel like I was eating Beginner Paleo. Phase 3 has given me the tools and wonderful ideas on how to move to the next level. Ideas on how incorporate stock, or bone broth, into my diet daily ( I do my version of Stacy’s Soup) and my next venture is getting organ meat into my diet. This will take some metal preparation and the Spaghetti Squash with Meat and Offal Sauce recipe but I will do it.

eggs in broth, so yummy!
eggs in broth, so yummy!

For me the greatest benefit of this book is the recipes. 75 new ways to be creative and try something new, my favorite part of being Paleo 🙂

Now that I have read the book 3 times and have loved it more every time I can’t wait to share how much it has helped me, even without a family to work with, in my journey to better health and real food.

Leave a Reply

